How to stand out from over 200 million blogs, every-time.

How to Get a Birds’-Eye View on Your Blogging Competition? Keywords are the key

Bird's-eye view
From Wikipedia,

A bird’s-eye view is an elevated view of an object from above, with a perspective as though the observer were a bird, often used in the making of blueprints, floor plans and maps.

Now imagine the object being your competitions blogs. Including the ones you want to work together with, now or in the future.

The basic question is, do you already have such a nice view at your disposal? If you do, I bet it took you a lot of effort and you are taking a lot of effort to keep that comfy view. I hope I can extend your view and make it easier for you to maintain it.

If you don’t have this bird’s-eye yet, I hope this post will give you some ideas on how to get it and keep it with a minimum of effort.

As a nice site effect, your efforts will give you a grip on new content ideas you can write blog post on.

If you are not a software programmer and want to have a try out, of course in an automated way, leave me a comment. I then will get you up and running with the scripts I am writing and using now. I will host it for you, do not worry about the details now.

Otherwise, you can do it manually.

Let’s start now.

Take a look at the image below. It shows you where to look for new topics and keywords that might drive traffic to your blog. They can be found in blog post from competitors that have keywords they share with you, but also keywords that they do not share with you. Those keywords might be interesting for you, and might hint you towards new topics.

Keywords are key, and so are the rss feeds you are reading

Part 1
Everybody that is serious in blogging is keeping a big focus on their keywords. Those keywords are a unique set of yours. However they easily can be extracted from your blog posts. But so can you. You can extract keywords from post from others. I mean… every blog can be analyzed for keywords. But because it’s very labor intensive, it is hard to keep doing this all the time.

As I am writing this post, I am creating and tuning some simple algorithms to do this for me. Every morning I have a scheduled task running, that goes through all the RSS feeds I’m subscribed to that are important for my blog. – Actually I am running two, because I’m researching an other content area to create a blog around.

The automated task is looking for my keywords in those RSS feeds every morning. It then gives it some rating. Depending on some rules of where and how often one or more of my keywords appear in that blog post. It saves me a lot of time in fast reading my RSS feeds to see if there are post that are relevant for my blog.

Every morning, while drinking a cup of tea, I just take the top 10 and look what’s new in my keywords area.

If you still want to do this manually, you have to count your keywords in all the rss feeds you receive, or use your personal assistant to do this for you. Make sure you show them this blog post, so they can contant me, to help them help you. (-;

Part 2, annotation

I am annotating each highly ranked blogpost with things I think are important. I am currently looking at what kinds of annotation is relevant. I am happy to listen for comments or real conversations on this topic.

The annotations, for example, can be about the post, about the authors, the blog in general or about ideas that it gives you for new post you want to write.

The annotation can be shared in a team. Therefore they can be used as social interaction design functionality. It is an informal, but streamlined, way of sharing ideas on blog post. Important posts, that matter to your team and you.

I am using annotation to give me focus on actions and share ideas that are surrounded around the blog posts that are most relevant for my blog.

Part 3
I am also writing a script that extract keywords from RSS feeds that are not related to my keywords. It is looking at the same RSS feeds as I mentioned in the part 1 above.

I am thinking of scripts that will do some comparing, between keywords from me, high rated blog post based on my keywords and the keywords that are closely connected to mine, but are from the competition. Again on the same set of RSS feeds.

Screen Shot 2013-01-27 at 1.48.09 PM

This way I am confident new patterns can be discovered by me and other people that use those scripts to extend their birds’-eye view on their blogging competition.

I am using scripts, that will become software in the long run, to keep me in the loop of what is going on in my keyword area. So can you!

Are you an early bird? Then join me in this little adventure!

3 Responses »

  1. Reblogged this on gabriel catalano and commented:
    The basic question is, do you already have such a nice view at your disposal? If you do, I bet it took you a lot of effort and you are taking a lot of effort to keep that comfy view. I hope I can extend your view and make it easier for you to maintain it.

    If you don’t have this bird’s-eye yet, I hope this post will give you some ideas on how to get it and keep it with a minimum of effort.

    As a nice site effect, your efforts will give you a grip on new content ideas you can write blog post on.

Trackbacks

  1. Keyness of (your) Blog Keywords, A Statistical Approach to Extend your Overview on your Blogging Competition | A Perfect Blog Post

Leave a Reply

